top of page
  • Writer's pictureAyrshire Daily News

Ayr students graduate from Ayrshire College

Ayrshire College students from the Ayr Campus wrapped up graduation season in style with their ceremony on Friday 25 November.

Over 160 HNC and HND graduates celebrated with their family members and friends during the ceremony at Ayr Town Hall, before members of the public cheered them on during the procession through the town.

Every graduate was presented with a special medal from Ayrshire College Chairman Willie Mackie and a certificate from the Principal, Heather Dunk OBE to commemorate their time on their course.

Thirteen students received further recognition, with 10 graduates receiving ‘Student of the Year’ awards. Stuart Hendry received the ‘Institute of Hospitality’ award, Anna Manson was named the winner of the ‘Making a Difference in the Community’ award, while David Collins won the ‘Outstanding Achievement’ award.

The ‘Student of the Year’ recipients were: Christine Aitken (Care), Jordan Green (Aeronautical), Louise Herron (Music and Performance), Abbie MacNee (Early Years), Jack McBride (Construction, Technology and Trades), Devlin McCloskey (Hospitality and Tourism), Jean Muir (Arts and Fashion), Neil Nightingale (Engineering and Science) and Alistair Walls (Business, Administration and Accounts).

Heather Dunk, Principal, announced at the ceremony that the overall Student of the Year for the Ayr Campus was Jean Muir, who graduated with HND Art and Design.

Heather said “This is a special occasion for all of our Ayr graduates and it is fantastic that they are able to celebrate their achievements in front of their proud friends and family members today.”


bottom of page