top of page
  • Writer's pictureAyrshire Daily News

UK General Election candidates confirmed for North Ayrshire and Arran constituency

Eight candidates will be on the ballot paper when voters in the North Ayrshire and Arran constituency head to the polls on Thursday, July 4.

Image - UK Gov

As the deadline for nominations passed, it was confirmed that the names on the ballot will be:

  • Irene Campbell – Scottish Labour Party

  • Gillian Cole-Hamilton – Scottish Liberal Democrats

  • Todd Ferguson – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

  • Ian Charles Gibson – Social Democratic Party

  • Patricia Gibson – Scottish National Party (SNP)

  • Mike Mann – Reform UK

  • James McDaid – Socialist Labour Party

  • Cara McKee – Scottish Green Party

Returning Officer Craig Hatton has urged residents to ensure they are registered to vote.

He added: “Time is running out to register – in order to vote, your name must be on the electoral register by Tuesday, June 18.

“No one should miss out on their right to be part of the democratic process - simply go to where registration takes about five minutes.”

If you have previously registered, then it is likely that you will be eligible to vote in the UK Parliamentary Election. However, if you have changed your address or other details have changed, you are advised to check your registration before June 18.

Voters aged 16 or 17 on July 4 should be aware that while they are eligible to vote in the Council and Scottish Parliamentary Elections, they will not be able to vote in the UK Parliamentary Election as the minimum voting age is 18.

In addition, the UK Parliamentary Election now also requires voters to provide a form of photo identification, such as a passport or photocard driving licence when voting.  A list of accepted forms of photo ID is available here.

If you do not have an accepted form of photo ID you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate or you can download a paper application so that you can apply by post.  Paper forms can also be obtained from the Electoral Registration Office, Ayr, and should be returned to the Electoral Registration Office by Wednesday, June 26, 2024.

If you are unable to go to your polling place in person you may wish to apply for a postal or proxy vote. Application forms are available from the Electoral Registration Officer for Ayrshire. More information on applying is available on the Ayrshire Valuation Joint Board website.

Polls will open at 7am on Thursday, July 4, for the UK Parliamentary Election, with counting getting underway shortly after polling places close at 10pm.

In North Ayrshire, voters will cast their ballot in one of two constituencies.

Voters in Largs, Fairlie, West Kilbride, Ardrossan, Kilbirnie, Beith, Dalry, Saltcoats, Stevenston and parts of Kilwinning, as well as the islands of Cumbrae and Arran will choose their Member of Parliament for the North Ayrshire and Arran constituency.

Irvine and parts of Kilwinning are part of the Central Ayrshire constituency alongside areas such as Prestwick, Troon, Annbank, Tarbolton, Symington and Dundonald.

All registered voters will shortly be receiving their poll cards which will highlight how and where to vote.


bottom of page